The Seven Archangels Identity Theory, Including Joseph Smith

Thesis: Based on the Book of Enoch, the Doctrine and Covenants, and other latter-day revelation, we identify Joseph Smith as the 7th Archangel Remiel.

For more studies on the magnificence of Joseph Smith and the great roles he plays in the salvation of man which we may be less familiar with, see my notes on the Joseph Smith Foundation’s “Joseph Smith: More than We Know” ( and my notes on the Joseph Smith Foundation’s “The Mystery of the Two Prophets: Revelation 11” (
-Archangel Names from Enoch 20, 2-8 matched with heads of dispensations:

Adam= Michael (Hebrew “who is like God”)

Enoch= Raphael (Hebrew רָפָאֵל “God has healed”)

Noah= Gabriael (Hebrew גַבְרִיאֵל (Gavri’el) meaning “God is my strong man”)

Abraham= Raguel (Hebrew “friend of God)

Moses= Uriel (Hebrew אוּרִיאֵל “God is my light”.)

John the Baptist= Saraqa’el

Joseph Smith= Remiel (Hebrew “mercy of God”)

-Here is the 20th Chapter of Enoch quoted, see how it highlights some of the functions of these angels: “CHAPTER XX. 1. And these are the names of the holy angels who watch. 2. Uriel, one of the holy angels, who is over the world and over Tartarus. 3. Raphael, one of the holy angels, who is over the spirits of men. 4. Raguel, one of the holy angels who †takes vengeance on† the world of the luminaries. 5. Michael, one of the holy angels, to wit, he that is set over the best part of mankind ⌈⌈and⌉⌉ over chaos. 6. Saraqâêl, one of the holy angels, who is set over the spirits, who sin in the spirit. 7. Gabriel, one of the holy angels, who is over Paradise and the serpents and the Cherubim. 8. Remiel, one of the holy angels, whom God set over those who rise.” (Enoch 20; see

-The book of revelation says there are 7 angels who pour out plagues in the last days.
-Jewish lore holds that 7 archangels preside over the dispensations. We know who have presided over the dispensations from latter-day revelation. We can attempt to match up the 7 archangel names given in the apocryphal book of Enoch with the 7 dispensation heads.
-Other dispensations exist such as the dispensation of the gospel among the Nephites, but generally speaking there are 7 dispensations.
-in the ancient Ethiopian texts there is an angel called Remiel, who would restore the gospel in the last days.
-Here I do not include Jesus Christ as an archangel, rather he is the God of the archangels!
-From the 4th Book of Enoch Ch 8:
“There are seven archangels who preside, under the Godhead, over all the affairs of mankind.
The first is Michael, who stands at the head of all humanity. He was the first of mankind, and
from him have proceeded all nations. He is the Lord of Spirits, the Ancient of Days, the Exalted
Man, who creates order from chaos and Light from darkness.
The second is Raphael, who presides over the world of spirits, where dwell the dead, who have
not been resurrected. He holds keys of death and life, of healing power, of health and strength.
The third is Gabriel, who presides over the dispensations of the Priesthood. He watches over the
cherubim, the seraphim, and the serpents who inherit the Light of the Firstborn.
The fourth is Raguel, who presides over those who have been lifted to worlds of Light. He is the
father of the Faithful Multitude and the prototype of that Way of Life that leads to unity with
The fifth is Uriel, who reaches out to those who stumble in the Path of Life, leading them to a
place of rest, where they can be strengthened before continuing their journey.
The sixth is Saraqael, or Phanuel, who saves the penitent from darkness, so that they can live
among God in realms of Light.
The seventh is Remiel, who will lead mankind to the resurrection, preparing everything for the
descent of the Son of Man in radiant Light. He is the Testator, who bears witness of the Father,
and of His Divine Son. Through him, everything will be restored before the end of time”
(this can be found in various places such as

-Joseph Smith was visited by Raphael Gabriel and other angels (D&C 128:21).

-Adam is identified as the archangel and is defined as being Michael (D&C 107:54; 88:112; 29:26; 128:21; Jude 1:9).

-attached to the end of their names is “el” is Hebrew for God.

-Noah is identified as Gabriel by Joseph Smith (History of the Church 3:386 ; see also Joseph Smith Papers: Report of Instructions, July 1839, as Reported by Willard Richards

-Noah is identified as Gabriel also by Joseph Fielding Smith. (Joseph Fielding Smith, Answers to Gospel Questions, 3:138-141

-Note: It is understood that pre-mortal persons had different names than those they were given in mortality, for example, we know that Jehovah is the pre-mortal Jesus Christ (see John 8:52–53, 56–59; Exodus 3:11–14 & 6:2–3;). Further illustration of Jehovah being Jesus Christ from Elder McConkie: “This is as blunt and pointed an affirmation of divinity as any person has or could make. ‘Before Abraham was I Jehovah.’ That is, ‘I am God Almighty, the Great I AM. I am the self-existent, Eternal One. I am the God of your fathers. My name is: I AM THAT I AM’” (Bruce R. McConkie, Doctrinal New Testament Commentary, 3 vols. [1965–73], 1:464). And consider 3 Nephi 15:2-5: “2 And it came to pass that when Jesus had said these words he perceived that there were some among them who marveled, and wondered what he would concerning the law of Moses; for they understood not the saying that old things had passed away, and that all things had become new. 3 And he said unto them: Marvel not that I said unto you that old things had passed away, and that all things had become new. 4 Behold, I say unto you that the law is fulfilled that was given unto Moses. 5 Behold, I am he that gave the law, and I am he who covenanted with my people Israel; therefore, the law in me is fulfilled, for I have come to fulfil the law; therefore it hath an end.”

3 thoughts on “The Seven Archangels Identity Theory, Including Joseph Smith

  1. This is cool. Thanks for your research. I was searching about the 7 Archangels and found your site.

  2. I have a different list of Archangels from The Book of Two Pearls.


    Do we actually know the true names and proper order of the Archangels? Only one source is sited. There are multiple sources to validate any conflicting source. I do appreciate your ambitious of identifying Joseph Smith as an Archangel. However, based on the list from the Book of Two Pearls, Raquel is listed as the 7th Archangel. In the article you mentioned Raquel meaning Friend of God. In D&C, God was constantly calling the founders “ My Friends”. I don’t know the correct answer but I think more research would be required.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *